My heart has left me.

Has anybody ever been jealous of heaven?
I am so jealous right now because heaven is the most exciting place right now because this man, Uncle Raymond, is there right now.

60587814_10157208969620135_2172229093485969408_n
Raymond Paul Lanclos July 24, 1948 – May 16, 2019

I have no doubt that this man has been in my life since the day I was born. Let me explain a little bit about our special relationship. He was not my mom or dad’s brother, he was a long distant cousin on my dad’s side of the family.

Uncle Raymond lived across the street from my grandmother on Marcelle Drive. I along my family was part of the close-knit neighborhood for a short while before moving to Sunset Louisiana

You might be wondering if he is not your uncle, why are you calling him Uncle Raymond? It’s as simple as this, one day I believe I was at my grandmother’s house, and he walked in, and I said hey Raymond, he looked at me and said you can call me Uncle Raymond. I also know that’s what Cajuns verbally adopt the people they love as nieces and nephews.

Lord have mercy, he could make me laugh so hard I cried, I mean can’t breathe, muscle spasm kind of laugh.

46699_1264155062719_1023465_n
He asked me to dance at my cousin’s wedding

He was the type of person that didn’t want to hear me use my disability as an excuse not to do something. He refused to dance with me in the wheelchair, that’s what makes this my all-time favorite picture. He was holding me up.

I told his niece, Mikki through a Facebook message that he’d made my wheelchair seem invisible.

He owned Video City in Lafayette, where he asked my mom to work with him. I remember going there after school. One day I was sitting in one of the chairs he had, and he squatted in front of me trying to teach me to keep moving my arms.

We always had jokes between us. I will share only one with you. I am not the most graceful motorized wheelchair driver. When he would see me, he would ask where did you get your drivers license Walmart? Sometimes he would change the name of the store to Kmart.

21743677_1410953002287519_3611303377483161320_o
No caption needed here.

He was a Saints fan, hey, he could be an angel on the football field clearing the referee’s vision. 🙂 Ha, you know I had to go there!

 

Lung cancer took over

He was a hard worker, he was always doing for others. So when he was diagnosed three years ago. My mom and I talked about it with each other. He needed a ride to his appointments.

I would do anything for Uncle Raymond, including letting him use my manual wheelchair and my van Dora complete with driver (my mom.)

I am so proud of him for fighting so hard.

May 16, 2019, my world stopped turning,

  • I am blessed to have known him
  • I am angry at cancer for causing pain and suffering.
  • I am relieved that he is no longer in pain.
  • I am eternally grateful that I got to visit with him one last time in the hospital on April 10, 2019, before he went home under hospice care.
  • I am rejoicing that he has been made new in heaven.

I would like to thank Lafayette General Cancer Center for helping Uncle Raymond fight for as long as he did. You gave us as much time as possible to tell him how much we loved him. My heart overflows with so much gratitude for each and every staff member that came in contact with Uncle Raymond.

I would also like to thank Hospice for caring for Uncle Raymond and all they have done.

Last but not least, all of the prayer warriors who prayed, please keep the family and friends in your heart and minds. We will all be learning to navigate life without Uncle Raymond for the rest of our days.

This song is amazing! I had to share it as a reminder to myself and others grieving for a loved one, such as Uncle Raymond that this life doesn’t last forever. We will be together again, as soon as God is ready.

 

0C7ACB06-9DA9-408C-9136-0B7C685CCD5B
21 gun salute souvenir

Thank you for your time and service in the Navy!

You were the life of the party! You will always be loved, you will never be forgotten!

 

Leave a comment