When God speaks you listen

I don’t like change, I could say that until I’m blue in the face but guess what things are changing as I speak. Do I have to like what’s happening? No, I have a right to my own opinion. I must learn to be respectful of change and choose my words wisely when voicing my concern even when I am alone because God can hear me.

I am a Christian, as you all may remember, I attend Crossroads Church with my mom. I love the church with a passion. We have some excellent pastors speaking the word of God.

Lately, whenever our lead pastor Pastor Jeff Ables has an announcement during service, it most likely has to do with change within the church. Honestly, this last change within the church turned my world upside down. I was being tested, and I failed miserably.

Image may contain: 5 people, including Paul Burke and Jessica Lormand, people smiling, people sitting and indoor

Our discipleship pastor Pastor Paul Burke is now the lead pastor of Glad Tidings Church in Lake Charles, Louisiana.
Here’s where I confess publicly, after my mom and I left church the day it was first announced that Pastor Paul was leaving. I threw the biggest temper tantrum. I wanted to pull up stakes, I’ve seen many pastors other staff members and people within our congregation come and go over the years that I’ve been there. I couldn’t stand it anymore, another one of my favorite pastors left.

Over the next 24 hours after that day, I could hear God say Jessica stop! First of all, there will always be change within any church, no matter where you go. Whether it be building maintenance, department changes, or service changes. Second of all, Pastor Paul deserves to lead if you love him, let him go with grace and prayer in your heart.

I promise from here on out I will listen to my heart before reacting to any type of change within the church.

The second most significant lesson I’ve learned through this whole situation is God’s word and promises will always be the same no matter who comes in and speaks it.

Image may contain: 1 person, on stage, standing, night and outdoor

This past Sunday, our new discipleship pastor Pastor Brody Lantier introduced himself and spoke about his family and how they came to be a part of Crossroads Church. Toward the end of his sermon, I started bawling my eyes out, thinking you would have missed out had your heart stayed closed off to this change.

Later through messenger, I learned that Pastor Brody was having a tough time with Pastor Paul leaving. They have become such good friends.

Which brings me to my third lesson, I am not the only one being affected by the change. How childish of me, when did I become so narrowminded. God has never given up on me. How dare I even think of giving up on my church family.

My fourth lesson is at least Pastor Paul has not left this earth unexpectedly. He gets to continue sharing God’s word wherever he goes.
My mind has been on the sudden passing of UL Lafayette baseball coach Coach Tony Robichaux. I’ve said this on my Facebook page, and I will repeat it. I have never met him, but I could tell that he was a man of God, he has left a significant impact on me through the words he spoke during news interviews and snippets of press conferences. Always talking about being the best man in life, not just the best baseball player ever.

You never know how and when God will call you home to be with Him Coach Robichaux always seemed to be aware of that fact.

It’s a shame sometimes we all lose sight of the blessings God has bestowed on us.
I lost sight of one major blessing, I am a member of a church that has accepted me the way I am with all of my emotional scars.
Thank you, Pastor Jeff and those on staff past and present for making Crossroads Church feel like home. Last but not least, thank you, God, for the pep talk.

Leave a comment