God’s word: new lifestyle

yellow plush toy
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Joy is the most infallible sign of the presence of God.

Unknown

Well, here I am breathing a sigh of relief. Praise God, and his son Jesus. The reason I haven’t been blogging too much is that I’ve been feeling like my health is more important lately.

Ever since I found out that I had a kidney stone in March of this year, I realized that I wasn’t taking excellent care of myself.

1. I’ve learned mom is always right; she would always tell me that I needed to drink more than just two 16 ounce cups of water.
Coffee and other sugary drinks do not count due to the risk of dehydration.

Rule of thumb to how much water you should be drinking at least 2 L a day. I know that sounds like a lot break that down into 4 16 ounce bottles.

Disclaimer I am no expert by any means. I did my research and most important of all; I listened to my urologist’s advice and knowledge.

My food Do’s and Don’ts.
1. I do eat more fruits and vegetables.
2. I do drink fresh diet lemonade. (In moderation). Thank you, Chick-fil-A
3. I do monitor my portion control even more now than before. I limit myself; I don’t ask for seconds. Nine times out of ten I am successful.
4. I stick to the serving size when it comes to eating snacks.
5. I am still learning about healthy dairy habits and portions.
Note about number 5 I was cutting out dairy because I thought it was hurting my stomach come to find out I wasn’t eating it the right way. It all stems back to portion control.
6. I am eating less salt, I have switched to baked chips, and I have stopped eating microwavable dinners.
1. I don’t drink sugary drinks anymore. I mostly stick to water — no more coffee drinks.
2. Ladies and gentlemen I have decided to give up all chocolate related items. It’s my personal decision after examining my diet and researching the Internet. I started noticing that I was putting away a lot of chocolate at certain times of the month. After taking chocolate entirely out of my diet, I feel less sluggish and bloated. I don’t know if chocolate was one of the causes of my kidney stone, but I have learned from Google that chocolate is right up there with spinach causing kidney stones.

3. I no longer eat fried or greasy foods. The list is way too long.
Note I may have forgotten a few things, it’s a lot to take in.

You may think my God; she must be depressed. No, having a kidney stone is much more depressing not to mention extremely painful.

I also started a new daily regimen this year prescribed by my doctor. Potassium citrate and B6 I do take them as directed.

Some of these changes took a while to discover, and others fell right into place right away.

I want to take this opportunity to thank Southern Urology Dr. Chris Fontenot, and his staff has been taking care of me ever since the beginning of my ordeal with kidney stones this year.

I am incredibly excited to announce that I am on autopilot until next December, meaning everything is looking good which means goodbye, Freddy Krueger that is the nightmarish name I have given to having a kidney stone because it felt like Freddy Krueger was inside of me scratching my insides.

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read this, God bless you all have a Merry Christmas and happy New Year!

Leave a comment