I’m turning 40, I’m too blessed to be stressed

Today is August 25, 2021, the 40th anniversary of the car accident that changed our lives. It’s hard to believe it’s been forty years since that day in 1981. But, of course, I will remember this day just by what I’ve learned over the years since then. I hope that I never get tired of sharing my story.

It was on a clear day in Lafayette, Louisiana. My mom Carolyn was driving my aunt Sue around. Aunt Sue was looking for a job, my sister Jamie was also in the car. My mom was 6 1/2 months pregnant with me. When a Mayflower moving van, the size of a small U-Haul hit the car. The front and out of the car was smashed beyond recognition.

My mom suffered a broken hip and a shattered kneecap. Jamie suffered a broken leg and cut on her forehead. I came along about a week later; I was 2 1/2 months premature, at 2 pounds. 12 ounces, and both lungs collapsed. I was so small I had to be fed by an IV, which left a small scar on my left wrist. It looks like God kissed it while smiling. I stayed six weeks at Lafayette General Medical Center PICU.

I respect doctors and their medical knowledge. However, I am so glad that God has the final say. I’m not supposed to be here today. Some doctors said that if I survived. I wouldn’t be able to comprehend anything, let alone speak. I was diagnosed with cerebral palsy. Cerebral palsy occurs when there is a lack of oxygen going to the brain before, during, or after birth. There is no cure.

When I was three years old, I started school at Alice Boucher Elementary. They had an excellent special education program. All of the teachers and staff made learning so much fun. I cried when I would have to miss school due to being sick. Oh, it was nothing serious, just your typical childhood illnesses. As I got older, I started attending regular classes such as math and science. Then I would go back to my special education classroom for the rest of the day. I learned things better and at my own pace when I spent time in the special education department.

In 1985, we moved to Sunset, Louisiana. I still attended Alice Boucher elementary. When I turned ten years old, the zoning laws changed to where I would have to transfer to Sunset elementary.

Let me put it this way. I never did accept the change of schools. My attitude changed; I was probably the most difficult to teach because they had a different way of teaching. I still was a part of the special education department, taking one or two regular classes. I’m so sorry if I made things so difficult for the staff at Sunset Elementary. I never did like change, and I still don’t. We had a lot of disagreements on what was best for me. I never did like the tape recorder idea during my regular classes. Oh, I put up a fuss in high school as well. I prefer seeing my notes on paper, even if it means having someone with me in class taking notes. Sometimes students volunteered to take notes with a special notebook to copy what they wrote without writing it twice. Some teachers made copies of the notes for me. When I graduated eighth grade, I bet both me and the staff were doing backflips in our minds.

High school was even more complicated. I attended Beau Chene High school. I went to the special education department on my first day, thinking I would stay there like usual and attend one or two regular classes. But, by the end of the day, my world was flipped upside down. I learned that I would be taking regular classes all day long with one study hour where I would be helped with my most challenging courses and helped with taking tests. Sometimes I felt like I needed more study time and less regular classes. Sometimes my physical needs got in the way, such as going to the bathroom, because by the time I made it to class, the lesson was over, and classwork had started. I would get stuck bringing classwork and homework home to be done, which made for extremely long nights of nothing but homework. It was a bumpy road to graduation. It took longer, but I have my high school diploma after graduating at the age of twenty—class of 2002.

It hurt very much when I understood what it would take to attend college and get a job. My physical needs and the way I learn things would make it difficult for me to handle college. Yes, I comprehend things, but sometimes I comprehend slowly, depending on what it is. For example, I had a lot of trouble with math in school.

Yes, they have online courses, but I think I understand my limitations a lot more now than I did then. Plus, the whole point was to experience an actual college campus.

My dream job would have been to work with KLFY back in the day; they had some incredible news anchors and reporters. I wanted to learn from the best. I believe I was in sixth grade when my mom got in touch with the news director Dwight Dugas to see if I could watch a live newscast in person. He said yes, it was during their back-to-school supply drive, so we bought many school supplies. Dwight Spoke to Maria Placer. As long as I was quiet, I could watch. I was so excited, and I even got interviewed by Rob Perillo about bringing the school supplies.

I even asked Channel 10 if they could help with school projects. Blue Rolfes helped with a report I had to do on I believe it was my dream job for home economics. It’s been a while since then. So the details might be a little hazy. I know that I got an A and extra credit for showing proof of Blue and me together.

I even got to turn the tables on Rob and interviewed him for a high school English class assignment.

Through Channel 10, I connected with a relative on my mom’s side of the family. We had no idea; I just knew that I was her biggest fan. I love this story. Mike and Lori (Meaux) Steele were doing a series of reports on their wedding preparations. First, they showed a video of Lori’s grandmother picking out a dress to wear to the wedding. So my mom says, hey, that’s Mawmaw Eula’s Nanny (godmother.) 

I got creative, made a tape of Lori’s favorite songs, and sent her the cassette tape as a wedding gift. That’s what happens when you watch the news in the morning. You get to know everyone involved because they have so much time to fill. They end up talking about themselves between news segments. We met in person at the Acadiana running of the ducks. If you are familiar with Lori’s personality on TV, you get that bubbly personality plus she enjoys being around her family. She is very down-to-earth. 

I was so excited that I shared that it was my birthday on September 2, and they were getting married on September 8, 2001. I shared my story with Lori, and she wrote back and asked for my address because she and Mike wanted to invite me to the wedding. It was at the wedding that it dawned on everyone. Hey, we are related. It was fun meeting family. I hadn’t met before.

Mike & Lori 2001

Special thanks to my Aunt Donna for taking me to the wedding. My mom is usually the one with me at events, but she had broken her ankle and was in a cast at the time.

Today I still care about the local news, I still care about Channel 10, but I also have a new favorite news station. KLAF News15 NBC. Jeff Horchak has always been a favorite of mine to watch. The man has so much positivity. I’m wondering where he stores it all. He always made me smile when he worked the morning show at KLFY News 10 when he said good morning, sunshine. As much as I like to keep up with my favorite news anchors and reporters, sometimes, I take a break. I think everyone’s brain needs a break from the news every once in a while.

I left the best for the very best, my friend JayCee, oh once I get to know someone. It’s hard to stop talking to them. Our friendship is so meaningful, I’ve always known that I could speak my mind, but I never really had a trustworthy platform. Facebook is fine. I wanted a place where I could write as much as I wanted. So one day, I decided to share a little bit of my story on Facebook. JayCee Facebook messaged me and asked if he could share my post. So I thought, here’s my chance to expand on my story. So together, we turned it Into something that everyone could share.

https://999ktdy.com/words-of-wisdom-love-and-faith-from-a-friend-too-blessed-to-call-herself-handicapped/?fbclid=IwAR1nk8p8F99JtDsYJ3QC0V71bNc1-O-i3Xd1Xe9yJjjg6oBmqSZxpc9ONAw

The link above is the original article posted on KTDY’s website. Unfortunately, some of the pictures are not available. It happens the older the article gets, but the story itself is still there.

I got into blogging right after the article. Unfortunately, I think I started way too fast. I wanted to do one a week, which caused me to burn out.

Fun facts about me, you know how little kids get fascinated with the weirdest things. My fascination was doors. A family friend told me that she would tell my future husband that he better put a louver door in my house. I loved playing with all kinds of doors. I even loved being the one to cause automatic doors to open.

I’ve been wearing glasses since I was six months old.

I am the middle of three children whose names all start with J. Jamie Jessica Jeremiah.

Throughout my life, I’ve enjoyed going to several concerts. The first concert I ever attended was Michael Bolton at the Cajun Dome. I got to give him a rose while he was singing on stage. Some big men had to lift me and my wheelchair up so we can reach each other.

Here’s another favorite concert experience.
Loretta Lynn

We have a huge extended family. We used to have Thanksgiving and Christmas at my house. Finally, It got to the point where we had no room to move around.

I am an aunt and a Nanny (godmother.)

I still watch the New Orleans Saints every Sunday during the regular season. I’m still waiting to watch them get to another Super Bowl game and possibly win.

I still read/listen to the Bible. I still attend Crossroads Church. I miss being there in person. But, I am grateful for the online services. I’m not going to mention why we don’t attend in person anymore. The evil, destructive bully doesn’t deserve to be mentioned. Just know that my family and I are being cautious. That’s all I want to say about that.

My favorite author is Karen Kingsbury. I also enjoyed reading the Miss Julia series by Ann B. Ross. Audible is my favorite way to listen to audiobooks.

 I love streaming old shows such as Touched by an Angel and Murder, she wrote.

I love movies. I prefer going to the movie theater when it’s a really good movie. I love to watch some of the classic movies I grew up watching, especially some of the Disney classics.

Last but not least, I talk on the phone once a month with my friend Georgette. We talk for at least an hour to an hour and a half. 

When I first shared my story. I said I wouldn’t change anything, which is still true for how I came into the world and grew up. However, I would eliminate the evil, destructive bully wreaking havoc on everyone near and far.

I have to share something that has stuck with me, watching Touched by an Angel, you can learn a lot. Monica was struggling with a case. She thought she messed up. She wanted to quit being a caseworker for God. The angel counseling her said do you know why God put the faces on the front of people instead of the back? He wants you to face the future. The past is the past. He doesn’t want you to live in it.

Let me tell you. I stopped wishing things were different a long time ago. But, yes, I still have some bad days mixed in with the most fabulous days ever.

One day I will be free of this earthly body, but I will continue to share my miracle story until then.

Leave a comment