Gods word: I’m surviving

Image may contain: cloud, sky, text, outdoor and nature

I have been surviving in this world since my premature birth in 1981. No one knew what I was capable of on day one, but God knew, and he still knows even before me or anyone else.

It’s never easy to explain my story to someone new; some people don’t even know what cerebral palsy is others have their ideas of what and how I should be experiencing life. Some people ask if I do anything special during the day? My answer is no; I’m your typical run-of-the-mill 36-year-old. I may be physically unable to move the way you do, but I have fun my way in my own time.

I spend a lot of time on my computer reading/listening to the Bible, I have trouble holding a book up and following what I read with my eyes, but there are ways around it. If I make what I am reading on the computer big enough, the lines separate far enough for me to concentrate on one line at a time. As far as books go, I like the audio versions better than print. The same goes for Facebook and other favorite websites such as this blogging website.

I listen to Christian music and my fantastic friend Jaycee in the afternoon on KTDY. Jaycee is the one who sparked the realization that my opinion matters. How I feel, how I cope with life matters. I was celebrating 34 years of surviving a car accident when I told my story.
I go to my favorite place of all time, Crossroads Church, I go to the movies I sometimes go shopping, I like dining out at handicapped accessible restaurants.

I think it’s worth telling my friend thank you over and over again for the rest of my life for waking me up and helping me realize I have a voice. I love sharing my story over and over again to help people understand that I may be different, but I am me!

What sparked this blog entry, I’ve been meeting new people in the medical profession due to my recent kidney stone craziness. I’m not blaming anyone, they each had their questions, and knowledge about people in wheelchairs. When I talk in public, my physical feelings and words might not match up correctly to what they think and know. For instance, my kidney stone was on the left side, but I was feeling the majority of the pain on the right. The pain would ping-pong back and forth each time I moved a certain way, which confused some. To help you understand. I do feel when someone grabs my hand or touches any part of my body. I have something called startle reflex, which means my body reacts to unforeseen situations such as noises, loud voices and unexpected taps on the shoulders or arms. Sometimes I feel like if I wasn’t seatbelted into my chair. I would be 10 feet in the air. I experience countless situations where I hit my hands or knees under tables. I feel every bump in the right place.

The reason I felt like writing this. Some people confuse cerebral palsy with being paralyzed; I experienced lack of oxygen to the brain, not a spine injury. I’m able to think for myself, I have muscle weakness, and my arms and legs are tight, meaning I can’t straighten them all the way out. Not all cerebral palsy cases are the same. Some can walk, talk and work others are way worse off than me. It takes a village to lift me up without my ceiling lift. 3 or 4 women depending on how strong and if they are used to picking up people that can’t move or help themselves. It takes about two strong men if they can get in the right position without hurting themselves. I’m very grateful for all the healthcare workers in and around the hospitals. It’s tough to get an accurate examination in the doctor’s office because of some tests require me to be on the bed or table. It’s getting to the point where the x-ray technicians at Lafayette General Southwest know me, and I remember their faces as well.

After explaining all of this, I realize that my life story will never end with, they got married and lived happily ever after. Someone fearless, patient and willing would have to be a part of my life. Sure, I fantasize about the perfect guy willing and able to be with me what girl doesn’t do that. Give it time it will happen, yeah it could happen. I dare a single available guy that would typically date an active young lady to go up to a disabled person and start a conversation in front of the parent and caregiver.

Just thought I would share, thanks for listening and God bless!

Leave a comment